sixty-eight cent steal

the pop of plaid -- perfection!

The other day I went to Plato’s Closet and Clothes Mentor at the Crosstown Plaza  with my little sister to drop off some of our old clothes. Both business buy and sell gently used clothing in a win-win situation for fashionistas all over. Now, while I’m not much of a thrifter (don’t get me wrong, I love a good deal, and vintage is virtuous, but something about the unknown history of used clothing freaks me out a little bit), my sister and I had time to browse while the employees sorted through our drop-off. It was during this dead time that we stumbled upon the sale rack. Most of the items inspired nothing more than a simple “meh” from either of us, but then a hidden beauty caught my eye: an oversized Martha-Stewart-esque denim jacket that just begged to be worn during future gardening sessions and baking marathons. Best part? ON SALE FOR $1!! I quickly snatched it up and ran to the register. But, as if it couldn’t get any better, when the employee rang it up the computer subtracted a tripled sales tax (that’s -32%), so I got the jacket for just 68 cents! Now that’s a deal worth thrifting for!

i wish all sales tax worked this way!

2 responses to “sixty-eight cent steal

  1. Pingback: green as grass | TheGarnetLetter

  2. Pingback: green as grass | Unfiltered