Daily Archives: April 2, 2012

size matters

size mattersWhen I was applying to colleges, I knew I wanted to go to a smaller school. My high school had about 365 kids in each class (ok, I was class pres so you can’t blame me for knowing the exact number!), so I thought a college with around 2,000-4,000 undergraduates would be ideal. When I got into Boston College early action, I honestly had no idea what size the school was. I had already made my decision to go there when I found out that the school had about 8,700 undergrads, but I thought to myself, “eh, double my number, I won’t even notice…” Oh, BUT I DID. I know 8,700 is a freckle compared to some school stats, but that size made me feel lost, anonymous, and uncared for. School size was a pivotal factor in my decision to transfer to Union. Union has about 2,100 undergraduates and I can truthfully say it is the perfect size for me; I recognize enough people so that I feel comfortable, but still have opportunities to meet new people all the time so that I never get bored. Perhaps most importantly, to the school I am not just another number; Union appreciates the contributions of each of its students as human individuals and has constructed an unbelievable community. I am so proud to call myself one of 2,133!
