Donate to Dutchmen Dip!

kristen

Hello faithful followers!!

I just wanted to share with you the Dutchmen Dip fundraiser that I am involved with at Union right now. This Sunday, March 3rd, Union’s Colleges Against Cancer club will be hosting its first ever “Dutchmen Dip” in honor of a 10-year-old member of our Union community, Kristen Shinebarger. Kristen’s mother, Shelly, is the Director of Student Support Services on campus. Kristen is battling Ewings Sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer for the second time. On September 11, 2012, Kristen’s leg was amputated in order to battle this disease. Union is rallying behind Kristen in order to help raise money for a good prosthetic leg so that she can get back to doing the things she loves. For every $50 raised, a Union student will plunge into our outdoor pool to show support for Kristen!

I know cash is tight, but really every penny counts! It would mean the world to me if you could donate even just a few dollars to our cause and help us show support for this beautiful little girl. My donation page is available at: https://rally.org/dutchmendip/h5FItWkOWrs/catziac

Please click on the green “Contribute” button on the right to make a donation!!

If you want to learn more about our event, check out our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/DutchmanDip?fref=ts

We’re also on Twitter: https://twitter.com/DutchmenDip

Here is a personal message from Kristen:

“Hi! My name is Kristen Shinebarger and I am 10 years old. I love animals and was very active before I found out I had cancer.  I am now  battling Ewings Sarcoma for the second time. Ewings Sarcoma is a rare form of bone cancer.   I had to have my right leg amputated.  For two years I have been on crutches and have not been able to do the things I like.  I want a good prosthetic leg so that I can be active and keep up with my friends on the playground. I love taking dance classes (tap and hiphop), playing dodgeball and running around the neighborhood with my brother and friends.” 

A message from Kristen’s mother, Shelly Shinebarger:

 “Kristen was a happy and healthy 8 year old before we heard the words “your daughter has a tumor”.  She was taking dance classes, swimming, in the girl scouts and was busy keeping up with her older   brother.  For the last two years she has had to watch from the sidelines and has not been able to do anything active.  She has had to watch as her friends run in the sprinklers, prepare for dance concerts and play soccer in the yard.  She has done this without complaints and with a smile on her face.  Having dealt with this for two years, she was ok with the decision to get her leg amputated. Kristen understood that this is what it would take to help save her life and to help her get her back on the playground.  She needs a good prosthetic to help her reach that goal. We are lucky that my employer, Union College, has great insurance which covers 80% of the prosthetic leg. What we didn’t realize is there are various models and that you have to buy them in parts. The knee alone for example can cost $4000 to $40,000.   She will also need new legs/parts every 6 months or so as she grows.  
We thank you in advance for helping us help our daughter get her life back. She deserves to be out on the playground and dancing with her friends.”

Thanks again, guys, for helping me with this very meaningful cause!

4 responses to “Donate to Dutchmen Dip!

  1. Pingback: union united | TheGarnetLetter

  2. Pingback: union united | Unfiltered

  3. Pingback: bon voyage! | TheGarnetLetter

  4. Pingback: dutchmen dip 2014 | TheGarnetLetter

Leave a Reply

