sleeping beauty

Last week I went to see the very pristine performance of Matthew Bourne’s Sleeping Beauty at Proctors Theater in Downtown Schenectady. I am a very big fan of Proctors and any chance I have to attend a performance at the gorgeous theater I put in every effort to make it work.

I saw the ballet with an advanced Russian Literature class from my college. We were interested in hearing the wonderful work of Tchaikovsky and seeing Bourne’s Gothic interpretation of the classic story was an added bonus. Most people are familiar with either the Disney classic (actually, Aurora is my favorite Disney princess!) or the dark Grimm version, but Bourne did an excellent job of staying true to the traditional story line while adding modern twists of excitement.

Here’s a little video of how I got ready for my evening out and about!

Leave a Reply

