sweet & cinnamon-y

sweet & cinnamon-y

The other day I went on a Pinterest binge looking at recipes (check out by newest board ironically titled “hungry hungry caterpillar” for all of my delicious finds). I am not as much of a cook as I would like to be (although I try here, here, here, here and here), but I am certainly a lover of food and would like to try cooking a lot more. During my hours of mindless searching (when study breaks outweigh study time…oops!) I was inspired to create a breakfast experiment of my own. I tried the combo the next morning and it was remarkably delicious! For a sweet and cinnamon-y surprise, try the following:

Prep Time: 10 min (mostly due to seeding the pomegranate)

Ingredients:

– Non-fat plain Greek yogurt

– 1/2 cup fresh pomegranate seeds

– 1 tsp ground cinnamon

– a pinch of dry, unused coffee grounds

Directions: Cut and seed the pomegranate. About half of the pomegranate will yield a healthy number of the sour seeds. Add pomegranate seeds, cinnamon, and coffee grounds to yogurt. Mix and enjoy!

breakfast

This was such a delicious breakfast, and something with tons of potential in terms of other creative combinations. I especially enjoyed the addition of the coffee grounds because it added a different, almost chocolatey flavor to the mix. I could also imagine making this same meal with yogurt, coconut shavings, vanilla powder, and cocoa powder for an even sweeter treat, or with yogurt, a little olive oil, small heirloom tomatoes, and fresh basil for a simple lunch-time version. How would you put a spin on this sweet snack?

Leave a Reply

