live well

livewell

As a part of my last college “hoorah” before entering the real world I am trying to really do what’s best for me and my health (because I know I might not have time for those kinds of luxuries come graduation…). One part of this campaign is to try to drink more water. I already drink a ton of water (a good habit I picked up during my freshman year of college. Also, fun fact: I didn’t like fruit until my freshman year of college either — guess it wasn’t all bad!), but I wanted to pay extra attention to the amount I was drinking and make sure that I was drinking enough water each and every day. My solution was to buy a very lovely Union College Nalgene water bottle. My goal is to drink at least two 32oz bottles of water each day. Any more is bonus. I’ve read that you are supposed to drink half of your body weight in ounces of water each day, so this is about right for me. Of course, if you are exercising you should expect to drink more. I’ve also found that I drink a lot more if I have seltzer water on hand. And increased hydration is supposed to have so many wonderful health benefits: your immune system is stronger, your skin is clearer, and you are less sluggish, just to name a few. So, who else wants to take the water challenge with me?

Leave a Reply

