grandma muffins

muffins

The other day I made the most delicious banana bran muffins as a study snack. I know, I sound like an absolute grandma, but they were so tasty and I couldn’t resist trying to make comfort food a little bit healthier (ok, truth is I had some wheat bran sitting around that I literally hadn’t touched since I made a variation on my quinoa granola and I had a few ancient bananas that were minutes away from rotting, so I thought I might as well whip something up while I was thinking about it). The recipe I followed was super easy and the muffins came out so moist and fluffy. Did I tell myself I’d only have one and share the rest then end up eating five in the same day? Yes, but seeing how fast my housemates finished the rest, I will definitely be doubling (or tripling) the recipe during the next go around!

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Ingredients: (makes 12)

– 1/2 cup butter, softened

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 3 ripe bananas, mashed

– 1/4 cup milk

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 2 eggs

– 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/2 cup wheat bran

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1/4 tsp salt

Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease muffin pan. In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar together until fluffy. Then add bananas, vanilla and eggs. Mix well. Finally, stir in flour, bran, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Pour batter into muffin pan. Bake for 20 minutes then test with a toothpick to see if centers are baked through yet. If toothpick does not come out clean, bake for another 5 minutes. Remove muffins from oven and let cool in pan. Then transfer from pan to wire cooling rack to cool completely. Lastly, dig in!!

Leave a Reply

